[identity profile] roseembolism.livejournal.com
So Here It Is: Since this is my first bet, and I'm battling against a bad knee and elbow, I'm taking a fairly easy route.

Current Weight: 289 lbs. Yeah, look at it. Admit it's not good, and do something about it.

Goal: Shoot for 279 pounds by Christmas (December 25) weekend. That's 10 pounds in fifteen weeks.

Plan: (It's not a real plan without bullet points
  • Weekly weigh-ins.
  • Start the minimal/no-refined-sugar/HFCS, good carbs diet that Sandy does.
  • NO bad snacking between meals; snacks limited to fruit, veggies, etc.
  • Check calorie intake using the Lighthouse program, limit calorie consumption during dinner.
  • Limit alcohol to weekends, limit amount drunk then. Stare unflinchingly at the calories I ingest then, and plan accordingly.
  • Minimum 3 times a week, a total of 2 hours light exercise to start. It can be weights, it can be light cardio. The problem here is dealing with a knee that's going to need surgery, and an elbow that's painful as well.
EDIT: I got off the phone with the orthopedic doctor, and she recommended stationary or level surface cycling, or swimming with a freestyle kick.
  • I will be checking out the nearby Gold's Gym or the YMCA for inexpensive places to exercise.
  • After one month, I'll review progress, and make adjustments to my plan accordingly.

Carrot: If I hit 279 by Christmas, I want to get "Legends of Anglerre, a fantasy game using the same system as The Dresden Files RPG.

Stick:
  I don't have a suitable penalty set up if I miss this bet, and I dont think I should come up with one myself. So what do people think? Write and run a LARP crossover between Dr. Who and Thundercats by myself? Serenade the Christians in front of the library with punk rock songs? Walk into a biker bar naked? What?
[identity profile] roseembolism.livejournal.com
I just saw this advertisement for what's billed as "The World's Greatest Drug", and I'm thinking of seeing my doctor about using it, because it seems like it ccould make a difference in my weight loss plan.  My question is, has anybody here tried it?  I don't want to rush into anything that's too radical a departure from the American diet.  

Anyone want to meet me at Jack in the Box to talk about it over lunch?
[identity profile] racerxmachina.livejournal.com
Haven't posted to fitgeeks in a while, so I wanted to give you all an update. 

I've lost 3 pounds since early August, due to diet and exercise tuneup. I know because those pants that I've owned and washed for a year that "shrunk in the wash all of a sudden" now fit at the waist correctly once more.  Since my dryer doesn't have a "unshrink" setting, it must be me that shrunk!

Here's what I did:
*  Stopped eating sugared cereals, instead focusing on ones that fill me up with lots of whole grain.  Kashi makes a pretty decent "cheerio" type cereal that works well in this regard, and is lightly sweet.
*  Less alcohol.  I am a "kill the bottle" sort, and there are better ways to get my antioxidants (homegrown tomatoes!) than the glass of red wine-- or two-- route.  I will still tie one on occasionally, but I'm reining myself in well these days and the weight's coming off.  :)
*  More fruit/whole grains.  Particularly paying attention to not being hungry when I get home from work and getting random things from the fridge-- this means having fruit/veg throughout the day, especially at 3 PM.  Even low-cal snacks later in the day stack up, so it's best to fill up earlier.
*  Stairs, stairs, stairs.
*  Tea, tea, tea.   When I think I need something in my tummy, I hydrate first, THEN see if I need to eat.  Usually I'm thirsty and my body isn't giving me the right signal. 
*  New thing: rice/complex carbs in ice-cream bowls instead of on a plate.  Really lets you see how much you're eating!
*  Finding my target heart rate during my 30 min cardio, and keeping that rate for as long as I can.  This is a lot of extra work and monitoring, but if I'm just going through the motions, it's not going to do me as much good.  Every minute should count as much as possible.

Last night, I applied to hire a student personal trainer.  I hired a personal trainer when I began working out 4 years ago, and I think it's time to get some new training and techniques.  Last time, I was merely learning correct lifting techniques since I was brand-new to weights.  This time, my specific goals are upper-body toning and 15-20 pounds weight loss. (note to self: also contact student rep about body composition test.)  I want to have something to look forward to when I go, these sessions should do the trick.  I'll pass on cool stuff I learn.
[identity profile] deirdremoon.livejournal.com
You know how there are several stages of addiction, grieving, etc etc? There are several stages of Weight Watchers too, I think. The first stage is "Yes, I care enough to actually pony up the money to do this again." The second stage, for me, is "I'm being sort of half-assed about sticking to my numbers while I create the library of all the foods I actually eat." It's a useful maintenance stage. The third stage is "I'm being honest about what I eat, and am therefore horrified at the number of points it all costs." That's where I am right now. I just found out that my very favorite food at Starbucks is 11 points for one scone. *sob*

The good news, though, is that if I had not eaten that scone, I think I would have been fine for the week. The discipline IS coming back to me, and it's achieving the two things I really wanted. Okay, three: a) being better about portion sizes, b) being better about fruits and veg, and c) being honest about how often I'm working out and how much food that REALLY offsets.

Eventually, I will hit Stage Four of "I think I have this down" and then Stage Five, "I'm getting bored of known safe foods and need to branch out a bit."
[identity profile] racerxmachina.livejournal.com
So, how much calories are expended using the stairs rather than the elevator?  I used to have excuse after excuse for punking out and taking the elevator to my fourth floor office, but lately I have been using this summer to train myself into taking the stairs every chance I get.  The fact that BOTH elevators have taken to not relinquishing anyone foolish enough to enter into them (OM NOM NOM NOM) means that I am DEFINITELY taking the stairs as much as possible!

How much more exercise is it?  A quick troll provides this handy number: 0.11 kC/step.  Given that I'm a bit heavier and taller (5'9", 190 lb, down from 194 last month) than the average woman (or, come to think of it, a lot of men) that I think this calorie-unit is based on, I'll call my expenditure 0.12 for now.  Once I lose a bit more weight, I won't be burning as much.

Steps for each floor: 28
4 floors at 28 steps times 0.12 kC per step=13.44 kC burned.


13.44 calories does not sound like a lot.  But consider that it takes me a little under a half hour of a fast uphill walk to burn 200 calories on the treadmill, and you'll see that for (+/- 1 minute)'s worth of exercise there's a lot of caloric burn for one's time, and this is exercise I can do whenever I feel like it!  Today's been a busy day, so I've taken the stairs up (and down) to the fourth floor twice, plus once down to the third floor and back. 

9 floors at 28 steps x 0.12kC=30.24kC burned before 10 am! 


Go forth with the knowledge that 1 step=0.11kC, my amazons and hoplites, and burn for all you're worth!
[identity profile] racerxmachina.livejournal.com
I wonder if I'd have done better if I'd not had a big potluck lunch that day? As it was, the first test went OK. I'm very sore in my abdomen and shoulders and triceps, but otherwise I think I can try this again in a day or two.

I stretched a while, then did a single traditional pushup. Instantly, the socket between my pecs and my shoulders on both sides said, "No. Just no. Bad things will happen, not just muscular things, either. " Fair enough. I switched to crossed-knees position. Much better. Only problem with this is I forgot to put a pad down and I now have serious rug-burn on my knees. ♥ The fleet's in! ♥

I was able to do 36 good-form knee pushups before I had to completely stop. If that's 50% of the strength required for a regular pushup, it puts me in the third rank of the initial test.  I will try the first week's program, ranked 3, beginning Saturday.

I'm pretty conditioned to stop before I completely exhaust myself, which I don't think was the point of this test-- I think they really wanted me to torque myself, and I really wanted to, y'know, continue to work out for more than ten minutes. So I maybe could have done more, but as it was, I also slapped on 60 weighted pull-over crunches, 36 weighted tricep extensions, and then hit the treadmill for my usual fast-hike with hills for 30 minutes.
I was Endorphine Lass! Whoosh! I think that's what I've been skipping in all this maintenance jazz I do-- not pushing myself and feeling that big crazy rush. Went to hang out with folks, had a great time, maybe had one diet Coke too many.
Did not sleep until 3 AM. Big jangly wad of nervous energy, sore from sternum to hips.  Maybe I should have held back on the partying a bit after the adrenaline rush.

I can see myself doing this regularly, with the idea of keeping my increases steady and slow. And lots of Alleve and hydrating those muscles in between. 
[identity profile] racerxmachina.livejournal.com
When I first started working out and watching my diet in 2004, I was 5'9" and weighed 230, 27 pounds over what is considered obese.

Forget about the handwaves you'll sometimes hear from people about doctors having set obesity benchmarks too stringently-- I'll TELL you what obesity is. Obesity, for me, was daily acid reflux. It was bad sleep and exhaustion and insomnia, including having to sleep in a certain way so that the fat on my chest and throat wouldn't cut off my airflow. Eric sometimes had to keep vigil during the night to make sure I was still breathing.  It was rising mobility issues-- little things-- movie theater seats being too tight, seatbelts at amusement park rides not fitting, bolted-down tables and chairs at restaurants being too snug against my stomach.  It was the insidious rise in my blood pressure-- occasional dizziness, shortness of breath.  I was on birth control pills, too.  Oh, MAN, I was sweating bullets about strokes and blood clots when my blood pressure started steadily rising.

I don't know when exactly I came to the realization that the the pieces were coming together to form a really bad picture.  But I am really glad I did, and my one regret is I didn't do it sooner.  I gained about 10 pounds back before I moved up here, and I was painfully conscious of the difference between a heavier me and a lighter me.  I'm now at 186.  I need to go further, but I also cherish the little things I DO have that obesity denied me.  Easy clothes shopping.  Restful sleep, energy.  Ambition.  Healthy, empowered choices.  My realization that I needed to lose weight wasn't about looks, it was about health-- this decision means that I won't ever say "eh, I'm older, my looks aren't so important"-- my health is and should always be a big part of my decision-making process. I read articles like the one below to remind me of what we face now in our collective health as a society, and what we'll face in the future, when things like cardiovascular disease and diabetes-related disabilities will become commonplace among younger and younger people.  (WALL-E made me simultaneously want to go to my gym and my garden!!)  We will see (possibly already are seeing) this financially in our taxpaying outlook, as more and more people require disability assistance.  I'd like to think us geeks getting together to encourage each other, be it through exercising together, going dancing, cheer-leading, advice, or a penalty bet(!), is part of taking care of that collective health and each other as friends, as well as taking responsibility for ourselves.  To me, this is a part of being a good citizen!

[identity profile] deirdremoon.livejournal.com
Hey, y'all. :)

I don't know if I'll be posting much to this forum unless I figure out good metrics for tracking myself. I am not actually trying to lose weight right now (well, okay, 5 pounds would be nice, but that's hardly a diet regime). My focus is on strength and endurance, in an effort to get ready for another Half Dome hike in late August. I am definitely improving on knee strength, and want to work up to doing 8-mile workouts in the gym. Right now I can do 2 miles walking plus 6 miles on the bike, but eventually that needs to be 8 miles walking (a one-way trip to or from the Dome). Preferably on an incline. Preferably partially on a stair climber to simulate the Mist Trail.

I'm also doing upper-body weights, but mostly for body-balance and tone (and being able to help haul my ass up the cables, although I can do that now).

Not planning on entering any fitness bets at the moment, because the thought of not making it back down the mountain unaided is better than any fear of costuming as motivation. Last time, I made the round trip in 15.5 hours. I hope to beat that time this trip, although I would settle for a) completing it uninjured and b) not finishing in the pitch dark.

Not sure how to measure this, or provide interesting posts for the rest of you, but that's where I am, and I'm always lurking on the forum to cheer on the rest of you with your own goals.

Fitgeeks!

Jul. 9th, 2008 12:36 pm
[identity profile] racerxmachina.livejournal.com
[profile] amywithani  and I have started a new community called [community profile] fitgeeks!  We're mainly using it for daily/weekly logs of diet and physical activity, but I'd like to use it to solicit ideas for exercise/weight management, ask questions of the group, general cheerleading/boasting (Bragging about reaching a fitness goal is fantastic!), goal setting, and fitness bet/workout partner/diet buddy matchups.

Details:
  • [profile] amywithani  or I will send out invites.  You can post or lurk as you see fit.
  • I'll be posting daily intake/physical activity logs.  If you want to do the same, feel free, but please do it behind an lj-cut for brevity's sake.  I'll post once each day with my totals to keep post traffic reasonable.
  • Weightloss bet-partner solicitation is OK, but PLEASE take any bet smack-talk to your own journal or private email. (Some of the folks I've asked to join are not locals or are not interested in the bet-penalty system of weightloss.)
  • Be honest and positive on this community, please, both with yourself and others.  This isn't a forum for being self-critical (OMG I AM FATTY MCBUTTERMEATS) or harshly criticizing other people's fitness goals/decisions (o noez you do atkins? :(  enjoy your ketonuria, dood). 
Glad to see you on this community.  I'd like to game, and watch anime, and geek out with you guys for a long time to come, so let's be the exception to the cheeto-stained rule!
Page generated Mar. 23rd, 2026 11:16 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios