[identity profile] grandmoffdavid.livejournal.com posting in [community profile] fitgeeks
As per normal, I will not be doing a fitness bet. However, I'm trying to work out what I'm going to do for my personal fitness goals going forward. This is broken down in to two halves: running and weight. Both are going to have some issues until next spring, but let me address them one at a time.

With the running, winter is always tricky for keeping up the exercise. Even though it's only autumn now, I'm running into the issue that I really have nothing big to train for right now. Sure there are a few more races coming up in the 5-10k range and they're always fun, but really I'm looking at just meeting my minimum of 45 minute runs 3-4 days per week until spring. It has also been communicated to me that runs in the 2.5 hour range which eat up my entire day won't really be tolerated for a bit. Next spring I'll poke my head out of my den and look about for various races that might catch my interest. I haven't decided whether I'm going to try and get an actual marathon under my belt, or just do a couple of half marathons as my next goal.

With the dieting, there are two issues. We're coming into the holiday season, where I tend to go a bit nuts with the seasonal treats--both cooking and consuming. The other issue is that I simply have no interest in dieting right now. This may change, but the whole concept of it is eluding my willpower with critical success. That combined with the decrease in running spells trouble. I was fortunate that my metabolism got amped up recently with my training, but I can't continue to eat like that without having...difficulties.

So, what's the solution? I have no idea. My current plan is to keep up my running, focusing more on speed than distance but with trying to get one long run (1-2 hours) per week. As far as the food, I'm going to try and be good without actually dieting. Mostly, I need to work on portion control and cutting down on the booze and sweets.

I'm going to weigh in tomorrow and see how I'm doing. If my weight goes above 220, I'm going to have to actually diet. If I can get it below 210, I'll be happy. If I can get it below 200, I'll go to the doctor because I clearly have some sort of wasting disease.

Date: 2010-09-15 04:08 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] silverstreak.livejournal.com
I never say I'm on a diet. The whole Weight Watchers ideal is changing how and what you eat. A diet implies a temporary thing. But portion control and making certain choices are key to that so yeah, good plan. But as always, YMMV and it counts a lot on willpower. I'm ramping my willpower up to as close to 10 as I can get it to try and get back on track myself.

Date: 2010-09-16 12:02 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] deirdremoon.livejournal.com
I hear you on winter being harder, and on the holiday foods (especially the way your family cooks). Plus, dude, you just did a half-marathon... that's gotta be hard to beat, for setting short-interim goals.

Winter might just be about holding ground so that you're happy with how you look and feel at DDC, and that's an honorable goal.

Profile

fitgeeks: (Default)
Geeks Who Are Fit

February 2012

S M T W T F S
   12 34
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
26272829   

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 01:00 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios